Basic HTML Version

Jan Faye
is a philosopher of science at the University of Copenhagen, Denmark. He has written
and edited a number of books in English as well as in Danish. He is the author of After
Postmodernism (2012), a book about the philosophy of the humanities, in which he argues that a
pragmatic-naturalist understanding of humanistic research overcomes the traditional split in our
views of the natural sciences and the humanities. Among his other English books published are
The Reality of the Future (1989); Niels Bohr: His Heritage and Legacy (1991); and Rethinking
Science (2002).
Peter Achinstein
is Professor of Philosophy at Johns Hopkins University, Director of the Johns
Hopkins Center for History and Philosophy of Science, and Jay and Jeannie Schottenstein
University Professor at Yeshiva University. He is the author of six books in the philosophy of
science, including Particles and Waves, which received the Lakatos Award in 1993. A festschrift
in his honor, Philosophy of Science Matters: The Philosophy of Peter Achinstein was published
by Oxford University Press in 2011.